A few things….

I hope that everyone had an amazing Christmas break. I know I sure did. It was relaxing, very restful and it seemed like it was going on forever which is weird because they seem to go by so fast. It was just nice to spend the holiday with my family and watch the kids in the neighbourhood out and about playing… the weather was nice so it was great to see so many people taking advantage of it!

Now that it’s the new year I am preparing to help this community flourish through the spreading of good word. I have an exciting photography project that I’m working on and I can’t wait to share it with everyone! We will rise out of this! Just wait and see!

While things start to get back in the swing of things I thought I would put a few things out there in the mean time.

  • Recently there was a car jacking in the south end of the city where a young boy was still in the backseat. I feel for the mother because it doesn’t matter what happens, when you child is taken from you the horror you must feel is just unimaginable. CBC went to St. Vital mall yesterday to interview people about the story and one woman made an off the cuff remark that made me so incredibly angry. The woman commented that a crime such as this would “be expected in the North End and not an upscale area such as Tuxedo”. I cannot tell you  how angry that made me. Crime is not just a North End thing… it’s a whole city thing. The only reason the North End is featured so much is because the news makes it their business to make a huge deal out of it. Yes, we have poverty here, but that is not the point. The point is that this woman made a bad remark and judged an area of the city. This is why I am here with this blog… to spread the good word about the community and to stop the negative comments such as that. Don’t think for one second that just because you live in an “upscale community” that you are immune to crime… any type of crime, because you are not. I invite this lady to come in to our area to see that we’re not all criminals. Negativity will not help in rebuilding this area. Positivity will.
  • I know this is short notice but the Daniel McIntyre/St. Matthews Community Association is holding a fundraiser tomorrow at 8pm at the Lebanese Cultural Centre. Tickets are $15. More details can be found here: West End Dumplings – DMSM CA Social! I hope that even though it’s short notice, you can help out our neighbours!
  • The new banners are up on Selkirk Avenue and they’re beautiful! Megwich to Michael Champagne, Kale Bonham and the AYO peeps for this! It’s the little things that will get a neighbourhood going again and with the new addition, Selkirk looks so purdy!
  • The first copy of The FWD will hit the streets this month and I am so excited. I was invited to the first meeting at St. John’s High School and I am so pumped and thrilled that our youth are committed to this! The FWD is a North End Youth Newspaper written by, you guessed it, the youth of the North End!

I am going to leave you with an inspirational video that fellow North Ender, Kale Bonham, produced. Love is all you need!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A few things….

  1. Angella

    I love the North end I have been living here in the North end since 1999 from east Elmwood area. I have not had any problem and I live off jarves by the bingo hall.

Leave a Reply

